Design a site like this with
Get started

Understanding the diversity of Autism

There is much to learn about ASD yet. For example, a big misconception right now, and this is: How society believes an autistic person might be. And of course, if you do not fall into this category, you can not be autistic. We need to stop this vision. It’s not helpful.

There are 4 types of autism disorders:

  1. Classical autism. It’s basically what people know. Maybe the image that comes to mind when people hear the word “autism”
  2. Asperger’s syndrome. Considered the “mildest” kind of autism, which is often late or undiagnosed because of its subtle signs
  3. Childhood Disintegrative Diosrder. It’s also classified as a pervasive developmental disorder, which is actually kind of easy to diagnose.
  4. Pervasive developmental disorder not otherwise specified (PDD-NOS) It’s used as a diagnosis for those kids or adults who have signs and symptoms of ASD but do not meet the criteria for other kinds of autism. I’ve come across people who were diagnosed with PDD-NOS instead of Asperger’sn syndrome because of a speech delay. That’s one of the main differences

It’s helpful to know that all these ASD conditions do have 3 things in common:

a. Poor social skills

b. Difficulty understanding langauge

c. Rpetitive behavioral patterns/Obsessions

Focal points of autism conditions


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close